

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

FEB 1 9 2004

FILED

STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT

C4-84-2150

Order Appointing Members to the Judicial Branch Technology Planning Committee

AMENDED ORDER

WHEREAS, the Judicial Branch Technology Committee was established by Supreme Court order dated December 7, 1996 and has met continuously since 1997;

WHEREAS, the Judicial Branch Technology Planning Committee is charged with the following responsibilities:

- 1. Plan for and implement a technology vision and technology plan for the judicial branch.
- 2. Serve as a centralized decision-making body for:
 - <u>Business Practices.</u> Determining which business practices will be supported by technology and software application.
 - <u>Standards.</u> Determining the operational, industry and formal standards which will be adopted by the judicial branch.
 - <u>Prioritization</u>. Determining the percentage of time to be allocated between current system modification and new development, and among initiatives in support of the Courts, Criminal Justice System and other public agencies.
 - <u>Funding Requests</u>. Recommending requests for new funds for technology initiatives, including the source of those funds.
 - <u>Communication</u>. Serve as the central focus for communicating internally and externally the technology vision and technology plan of the judicial branch and as a centralized point for the sharing of technology related information across the judicial system;
- 3. Serve as the judicial branch information resource management (IRM) steering committee.

WHEREAS, vacancies have occurred, terms of membership have expired and new representative needs have become apparent;

WHEREAS, it is advisable to add a representative of the Minnesota Tax court to its membership;

THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, the Judicial Branch Technology Planning Committee shall consist of twenty-six (26) members appointed by the Chief Justice as follows, and who will serve until their successor is appointed and qualified:

One representative of each of the ten judicial districts appointed by the Chief Judge; one Supreme Court Justice or designee and two at large members appointed by the Chief Justice; one Court of Appeals Judge appointed by the Chief Judge; the Supreme Court Commissioner; the Clerk of the Appellate Courts; the State Court Administrator; the Director of the Information Technology Division, two representatives of the Conference of Chief Judges appointed by the Chair of the Conference of Chief Judges; the Minnesota District Judges Association President or designee; the Minnesota Association of Court Administrators' President or designee; the Chief Judge of the Minnesota Tax Court or designee; and one member elected from each of the four TCIS State User Groups. The chair and vice chair shall be appointed by the Chief Justice.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that the following persons shall be, and hereby are, appointed to the Judicial Branch Technology Planning Committee for the term indicated; subsequent terms shall be three years.

Honorable P. Hunter Anderson Tenth Judicial District Isanti County Courthouse 555 18th Avenue S.W. Cambridge, MN 55008 (612) 689-2292 Term Ends December 31, 2006

s4

Honorable G. Barry Anderson Minnesota Court of Appeals 314 Minnesota Judicial Center 25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 297-1007 Term Ends December 31, 2004

Honorable Russell A. Anderson Supreme Court 421 Minnesota Judicial Center 25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-2484 Term Ends December 31, 2005

Shannon Asselin Financial State User Group Representative Blue Earth County Courthouse 204 South 5th Street, P. O. Box 0347 Mankato, MN 56002 (507) 389-8364 Term Ends December 31, 2004 James Attwood, Court Administrator MACA Fillmore County Courthouse P.O. Box 436 Preston, MN 55965 (507) 765-3356 Term Ends December 31, 2006

Honorable James Broberg Third Judicial District Freeborn County 411 South Broadway Albert Lea, MN 56007 (507)377-5153 Term Ends December 31, 2005

Sue K. Dosal State Court Administrator 135 Minnesota Judicial Center 25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-2474 Ex Officio

Honorable Kathleen R. Gearin MDJA 1550 Ramsey County Courthouse 15 W. Kellogg Boulevard St. Paul, MN 55102 (651) 266-9178 Term Ends December 31, 2004 Robert Hanson, Director Information Technology Division 145 Minnesota Judicial Center 25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 297-7636 Ex Officio

14

Fred Grittner Clerk of Appellate Courts 305 Minnesota Judicial Center 25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 297-5529 Ex Officio

Mary Helf, District Administrator Sixth Judicial District 425 St. Louis County Courthouse 100 N. Fifth Avenue W. Duluth, MN 55802 (218) 726-2544 Term Ends December 31, 2004

Sheldyn Himle, Court Administrator Minnesota Tax Court 245 Minnesota Judicial Center 25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-2806 Term Ends December 31, 2006

Brian Jones, Assistant District Administrator First Judicial District Dakota County Judicial Center 1560 W Highway 55 Hastings MN 55033 (651) 438-8230 Term Ends December 31, 2006

Sonja Kruger Juvenile State User Group Representative Blue Earth County Courthouse 204 South 5th Street, P. O. Box 0347 Mankato, MN 56002 (507) 389-8312 Term Ends December 31, 2004 Honorable Herbert Lefler At Large Member 12-C Hennepin Government Center 300 South Sixth Street Minneapolis, MN 55487 (612) 348-8302 Term Ends December 31, 2005

Honorable Thomas G. McCarthy At Large Member Sibley County Courthouse 400 Court Avenue - P. O. Box 867 Gaylord, MN 55334 (507) 237-2232 Term Ends December 31, 2006

Honorable Thomas J. Mott Second Judicial District 1010 Ramsey County Courthouse 15 W. Kellogg Boulevard St. Paul, MN 55102 (651) 266-9187 Term Ends December 31, 2005

Honorable Dennis Murphy Conference of Chief Judges 101 North Main Thief River Falls, MN 56701 (218) 683-7023 Term Ends December 31, 2005

Kate Allen Criminal State User Group Representative Traffic / Criminal Division Fourth Judicial District Phone: 612-596-7707 300 South Sixth Street C-1153, Hennepin County Government Center Minneapolis, MN 55487 Term Ends December 31, 2004

Honorable Randall J. Slieter Eighth Judicial District Renville County Courthouse 500 E. DePue Olivia, MN 56277 (320) 523-3680 Term Ends December 31, 2004 Richard Slowes Supreme Court Commssioner 430 Minnesota Judicial Center 25 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-6125 Ex Officio

Honorable John Smith Ninth Judicial District 300 Minnesota Avenue Walker, MN 55484 (218) 547-7200 Term Ends December 31, 2005

Gregory Solien, District Administrator Seventh Judicial District 705 Courthouse Square - Room 410 P.O. Box 1836 St. Cloud, MN 56302 (320) 656-3650 Term Ends December 31, 2006

Joy Steffel Civil State User Group Representative Renville County Courthouse 500 E. DePue Olivia, MN 56277 (320) 523-3680 Term Ends December 31, 2005 Honorable Donald J. Venne Conference of Chief Judges Anoka County Courthouse 325 E. Main St Anoka, MN 55303 (612) 422-7440 Term Ends December 31, 2006

Honorable Lucy Wieland Fourth Judicial District 12-C Hennepin Government Center 300 S. Sixth Street Minneapolis, MN 55487 (612) 348-9808 Term Ends December 31, 2006

Barbara Worrell, Assistant District Administrator Fifth Judicial District 410 South 5th Street P. O. Box 3366 Mankato, MN 56002-3366 (507) 388-5204 Term Ends December 31, 2005

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that the Honorable Thomas G. McCarthy shall be, and hereby is, appointed as chair of the Judicial Branch Technology Planning Committee and that the Honorable Russell A. Anderson shall be, and hereby is, appointed as vice-chair of the Judicial Branch Technology Planning Committee.

DATED: February <u>1</u>, 2004

Kathleen A. Blatz

Kathleen A. Blat Chief Justice

4